There are many different categories and gradings of Theft in Pennsylvania. Call the Law Offices of Michelle A. Fioravanti at 484-876-1543 or contact us if you have been charged with Theft so we can discuss the charges and penalties you face.
Theft Lawyer in Chester, Montgomery, Philadelphia, Delaware, Lancaster, Berks and Bucks County Pennsylvania
You will be convicted of Theft if the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania can prove, beyond a reasonable doubt, the below offense:
A person is guilty of theft if he unlawfully takes, or exercises unlawful control over, movable property of another with intent to deprive him thereof; or unlawfully transfers, or exercises unlawful control over, immovable property of another with intent to benefit himself.
Types of Theft in Pennsylvania
There are also specific categories of theft depending upon the circumstances. A few examples are:
- Theft by Deception
- Theft by Extortion
- Theft by Property Lost, Mislaid, or Delivered by Mistake
- Theft by Receiving Stolen Property
- Theft of Services
- Theft by Failure to Make Required Disposition of Funds Received
- Theft from a Motor Vehicle
- Retail Theft / Shoplifting
- Bad Checks
Defenses to the Pennsylvania Criminal Charge of Theft
There are several defenses to the charge of Theft. One is the Commonwealth, through the Assistant District Attorney, did not meet the burden of proving all the elements of the crime charged. Another is to challenge the intent of your actions – perhaps the taking was accidental or inadvertent, or that you didn’t know the property was stolen in a receiving stolen property case. Another possibility is to try to negotiate the charges down to a lower offense.
Penalties for the Criminal Charge of Theft
The penalties for theft generally depend on the value of the items allegedly taken. If the items are valued at over $2,000, the Theft charge is a Felony of the third degree. If the items are valued at over $200, the Theft charge is a Misdemeanor of the first degree. If the items are valued at over $50, the Theft charge is a Misdemeanor of the second degree. If the items are valued at under $50, the Theft charge may be a Misdemeanor of the third degree or a summary offense. The theft of a gun, car or motorcycle is always a Felony of the third degree.
It is important that you contact an experienced criminal defense lawyer as soon as you are arrested for theft. It may be possible to have the charges reduced or thrown out all together. Call the Law Offices of Michelle A. Fioravanti at 484-876-1543 or contact us so that we may start preparing a defense as soon as possible.