In order to drive in Pennsylvania you need to have a valid license. The fines and penalties for Driving Without a License are not as harsh as the Driving Under Suspension traffic offense; the offense of Driving Without a License is frequently used as an alternative to Driving Under Suspension for purposes of plea bargaining. But you should think very carefully before you plead guilty of Driving Without a License, because a second and subsequent conviction results in a Pennsylvania driver’s license suspension.
Driving Without a License Lawyer in Chester, Montgomery, Philadelphia, Delaware, Lancaster, Berks and Bucks County Pennsylvania
You should hire an experienced driver’s license suspension and criminal defense lawyer to fight for your rights. As a former Assistant District Attorney for the City of Philadelphia and PennDOT lawyer for the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, I have extensive experience litigating driving without a license cases.
Call the Law Offices of Michelle A. Fioravanti at 484-876-1543 or contact us for a free consultation about your case.
Below are relevant portions of the Pennsylvania Vehicle Code explaining more about the offense of Driving Without a License:
§ 1501 Drivers required to be licensed
(a) General rule.–No person, except those expressly exempted, shall drive any motor vehicle upon a highway or public property in this Commonwealth unless the person has a driver’s license valid under the provisions of this chapter. As used in this subsection, the term “public property” includes, but is not limited to, driveways and parking lots owned or leased by the Commonwealth, a political subdivision or an agency or instrumentality of either.
(d) Penalty.–Any person violating subsection (a) is guilty of a summary offense and shall, upon conviction, be sentenced to pay a fine of $200, except that, if the person charged furnishes satisfactory proof of having held a driver’s license valid on the last day of the preceding driver’s license period and no more than one year has elapsed from the last date for renewal, the fine shall be $25. No person charged with violating subsection (a) or (b) shall be convicted if the person produces at the office of the issuing authority within 15 days of the violation: (1) a driver’s license valid in this Commonwealth at the time of the violation; or (2) if the driver’s license is lost, stolen, destroyed or illegible, evidence that the driver was licensed at the time of the violation.